By Lope de Vega

January 4 – February 17, 2019

(Previews January 4 – January 12)

“Fuente Ovejuna is a rousing, sweeping, adventurous tale . . .”   Tribune

 

The greatest play by the greatest playwright of Spain’s golden age of drama.  Ripped from today’s  the 15th Century’s headlines and set against the backdrop of war for the Spanish throne on the eve of its discovering the New World, the play is the true story of a young woman in the Spanish village Fuente Ovejuna who inspires and leads a rebellion against their military governor’s sexual exploitation of local women.  Laurencia refuses to be a victim when she is attacked and rallies the town to do something, finally, about the oppression that has gone on too long.  City Lit’s new adaptation premieres in the 400th anniversary year of the play’s first publication in Spanish.

Directed by Terry McCabe

Preview Performances:

Friday, January 4, 2019 7:30PM

Saturday, January 5, 2019 7:30PM

Sunday, January 6, 2019 3:00PM

Friday, January 11, 2019 7:30PM

Saturday, January 12, 2019 7:30PM

Regular Performances:

Sunday, January 13, 2019 3:00PM

Friday, January 18, 2019 7:30PM

Saturday, January 19, 2019 7:30PM

Sunday, January, 20, 2019 3:00PM

Friday, January 25, 2019 7:30PM

Saturday, January 26, 2019 7:30PM

Sunday, January 27, 2019 3:00PM

Friday, February 1, 2019 7:30PM

Saturday, February 2, 2019 7:30PM

Sunday, February 3, 2019 3:00PM

Monday, February 4, 2019 7:30PM

Friday, February 8, 2019 7:30PM

Saturday, February 9, 2019 7:30PM

Sunday, February 10, 2019 3:00PM

Monday, February 11, 2019 7:30PM

Friday, February 15, 2019 7:30PM

Saturday, February 16, 2019 7:30PM

Sunday, February 17, 2019 3:00PM

City Lit Theater’s play-making is handmade and costs more than the price of our tickets.  We are a unique non-profit corporation and appreciate your support.  Please consider making a tax-deductible gift to City Lit Theater Company.

 

 

 

 

© 2014 by CITY LIT THEATER COMPANY